This is gonna be a random drop kind of post for words that I’m currently trying to remember and think is useful, after picking them up from books or shows:

 

몹쓸 짓을 하다

doing evil deeds to others.

 

From my fav naver dict:

몹쓸
(나쁜) badevilillnasty (사악한) wicked (질병 등이) virulent      

몹쓸 병에 걸리다

suffer from a virulent[nastydisease 

몹쓸 짓을 하다

do sb harm[an ill turn

몹쓸 짓을 하다

do a cruel thing (to) 

몹쓸 짓을 하다

do wrong (to) 

저런 몹쓸 놈이 있나!

What a bad[nastyperson he is

저런 몹쓸 놈이 있나!

How wicked he is

불행히 

This was from Basketball, #3, while Shinyoung is protecting a poor child from an aggressive man. She demands to know what the hell kind of evil shit he’s doing. This is going to be so useful when I see everyday injustice of ugly people pushing and shoving for seats, or choice spots. Or those smoker bastards who harm their body and everyone around them by huffing and puffing away and spreading lung cancer. Those 몹쓸 놈s!

 

    • unfortunately, unluckily
    • Unfortunately, his work did not win anything.불행히도 그의 작품은 당선되지 못했다

This is pretty easy to understand once you consider the original form 불행 不幸, but probably not something I’d readily use unless it’s within reach in my brain. There’s another alternative to ‘unfortunately’ –> 유감이지만 (유감 being regret, pity). I have a teeny feeling perhaps the latter is more commonly used, but I haven’t actually checked. 

 

 

충 (大総)

[synonym] 대강
    • (Noun)
    • Can you give me a rough estimate?비용을 대충이라도 말씀해 주시겠습니까?
    • What will it cost, approximately?비용을 대충이라도 말씀해 주시겠습니까?
    • (Adverb) approximately, roughly, cursorily , 大体だいたい;
Can be useful to describe people who halfass their work too. So useful!

그는 일을 정말 대충 한다

He does a slapdash job

The above 3 terms and their examples I’ve chosen to remember with are from a critical point of view, to criticize others. I can’t quite describe what kind of psychology takes place here, but I’m borrowing the idea of ‘curse words are the first things people pick up from a foreign language’ kind of belief. Presumably because there is a higher chance of hearing/using such expressions in modern day situations whenever we feel slighted, overlooked or misunderstood. People gossip and such, but seldom go praising others behind their backs.

 

It won’t apply to everyone, but I’m someone who associates feeling and meaning and morality to words when I first encounter them. I mentally and automatically classify words under 3 categories: Positive connotation, Negative connotation and Neutral. I feel first then use a term to describe what I feel, OR seeing a word gives me associated feelings. This happens to everything that happens to me, so memories, colours, numbers, songs and even learning styles can evoke positive/negative feelings for me because I make them personal, so they hold meaning for me. (For example, I feel stuffy and uptight when I’m forced to learn with (everyone’s favourite) anki memory cards. I hate cards! They are so short, they don’t allow me to explore and find more examples, and they are impersonal and I can’t add colours or doodles etc.. you get the idea.)  Lately I’ve been feeling crabby, agitated and irate, so I find that negative connotation words are easier to remember during this period. 

 

If you’re a cherry sunflower or perhaps a teacher who dishes out compliments all the time, you might find positive association words easier to remember, or however you choose to study, just go for it. If if works for you, and nobody else, it’s still a valid method imo.

Leave a secret comment on what you think?

