[Learning Korean with Kpop] BEAST – Shadow

If you don’t know by now, I’m a die hard BEAST fan. Hehe. So I feel compelled to post about this song, because I practically dedicated most of my free time to listen to this great song.

I’m a fan of learning korean (vocab) with music, especially with rap, because you learn with your fav music and still, it’s not going at a pace of a turtle. I wouldn’t think anyone would start sprouting lyrics in actual real life situations, so just note that it’s great for understanding vocab. I’ll give some simple breakdown of some words in this song, written by Yong Junhyung and buddy Kim Tae Joo~

====================================

For the translation, you can google them (one I found here)

Shadow Shadow Because I’m a shadow shadow shadow

RAP ===========

Ha, Rainy Cloudy No light Darkness day N Night 너 (you) 떠나버린
그때부터 (From that moment 어쩌면 (perhaps) Maybe 내 (my) 존재 자체없어졌지
Back in the day 화창한 날씨 화려한 불빛
항상 네 곁에 있었지 내가 있었지 내가
Cause I’m shadow shadow shadow

  • 떠나버린 is a combination of 2 words, 떠나다 (leave, depart) + 버리다 (throw, leave, abandon)
  • 존재 – existence
  • 자체 – oneself
  • 없어졌지 = conjugation of 없어지다 (disappear)
  • 화창한 날씨 = 화창하다 conjugated to form an adjective, describing the weather (날씨), which is a clear, bright sunny day
  • 화려한 불빛 = 화려하다 (conjugated adjective) describing the glimmer, light (불빛) = glamorous lights
  • 항상 네 곁에 있었지 내가 = I (내가) was (있었) always (항상) by your side (곁에)

Give me the light light light
You are ma ma ma sunrise 너 없는 난 아무것도 아냐
넌 내 마지막 You’re my last 언제까지나 You’re my last
네가 불길이라도 난 뛰어들게

  • 불길 = 불 (fire) +길 (road/path) = road of fire
  • -이라도 = suffix form, if you attach it at the end of a noun, it means even if it is ~ (even if [you] are a road of fire). <Note -이라고 is the suffix for ‘it’s called -‘; eg. 이거은 책상이라고 합니다 = This is called a table>
  • 뛰어들게 = 뛰다 (run, dash) 들다 (return) and the 게 ending is a informal form to mean i’ll do ~ for you, in this case, even
  •  불길이라도 난 뛰어들게 = even if you are a path of fire, I’ll run right back to you

너와 나의 저 하늘을 검게 물들인 저 이별을 어서(quickly) 지워줘(erase it)
더 이상 (Not anymore) 내가 다가갈 (leave) 수 없게(can’t) 너를 바라볼(look) 수 없게
네 곁에(beside) 머물고 싶어
Because I’m a shadow shadow shadow

  • 너와 나의 저 하늘을 검게 물들인 저 이별 (farewell) – everything before that is describing what kind of farewell (이별), so let’s take a closer look: 너와 나의 (yours and mine) 저 하늘 (that sky) 검게 ([making it] dark 물들인 (dyeing) = That farewell that is staining our sky dark 
  • 머물고: conjugated. The dict form is 머무르다 (stay)

간절하게 (earnestly) 원하고 있는데 (continuously desire) 눈부셨던 그때로(that time) 나 돌아갈래(return)
그림자 (shadow)처럼 (just like~) 항상 함께였던(always together) 아름다운 (beautiful) 네 미소(your smile) 가 날 (me) 비추던 (shine at)
Because I’m a shadow shadow shadow

  • 눈부셨던 – past form of 눈부시다 (dazzling, remarkable, wonderful, brilliant)
  • 그림자 처럼: just like a shadow. But what is? It’s in what follows:(항상 함께였던 = together always) = we were always together like shadow
  • 비추던 – past form of 비추다 (shine on, illuminate)

Early in the morning 오늘도 역시 (as expected) The sun is hiding
빛은(light is) 사라졌지(dissappear) 널 (you) 데리고서 (took) 저 저 멀리로(far away)
Cause I’m shadow shadow shadow

  • 데리다 – 데리다 (bring, take, transport)
  •  멀리로 – conjugated form of 멀다 (far)

Give me the light light light
You are ma ma ma sunrise 너 없는 난 아무것도 아냐
넌 내 마지막 You’re my last 언제까지나 You’re my last
네가 불길이라도 난 뛰어들게

너와 나의 저 하늘을 검게 물들인 저 이별을 어서 지워줘
더 이상 내가 다가갈 수 없게 너를 바라볼 수 없게
네 곁에 머물고 싶어
Because I’m a shadow shadow shadow

간절하게 원하고 있는데 눈부셨던 그때로 나 돌아갈래
그림자처럼 항상 함께였던 아름다운 네 미소가 날 비추던
Because I’m a shadow shadow shadow

RAP ==========

Erase erase 잊어 (forget) 지워 (erase) 이젠 (now) 이젠 싫어 (dislike)  미워 (hate)
Fall fall fallin’ down faded faded faded
I’m not a vampire not a night ghost
어둠 속에 (in the darkness) 흐느껴 네 이름 부르고 (call out)
우리가 다시 함께 하기를 기다려
Cause a shadow shadow shadow

  • 흐느껴 – 흐느끼다 (sob, weep)

Oh (너를 잊는다는 건) 나 (I) 역시(indeed) (지워진다는 걸)

  • 너를(you) 잊는다 는(noun modifier) 건(thing) – 잊다 (forget). In this clause, the main point is about ‘forgetting you’)
  • 나 (I) 역시(indeed/as expected) (지워진다(erase)는 걸(thing)) = in this second clause the point is ‘indeed, erasing myself
  • Thus when you put the line together, it goes: (The thing about) Forgetting you is indeed erasing myself

너와 나의 저 하늘을 검게 물들인 저 이별을 어서 지워줘
더 이상 내가 다가갈 수 없게 너를 바라볼 수 없게
네 곁에 머물고 싶어
Because I’m a shadow shadow shadow

간절하게 원하고 있는데 눈부셨던 그때로 나 돌아갈래
그림자처럼 항상 함께였던 아름다운 네 미소가 날 비추던
Because I’m a shadow shadow shadow
Because I’m a shadow shadow shadow

So there you go. Breakdown. I hope it helps. I can’t help but put in a little linguistic terms in it, because that’s how I was taught to analyse sentence structure when I was still studying Japanese linguistics.

Don’t forget to sing along! Singing along helps seal the memory in of what you newly learnt. Even if you are not aware of what words you are using at that time, you can sing back later and identify the words and see how they piece together now you got them memorized.

Leave a secret comment on what you think?

