Favorite Naver Webtoons

(Before I start, I wanna just say that my list of webtoons aren’t after careful deliberation going through all of the webtoons on Naver because that’s just impossibru. I’m a fussy reader, so I just selected some that looked nice.)

Ever since I discovered Naver’s webtoons I’ve been spending more time with it. Ok correction. Ever since I started self learning korean language and rediscovering Naver webtoons, I’ve been spending more time with it.

I’ve actually… seen the webtoon page before. At that time, I had no idea of course, it was a webtoon treasure chest chock full of nice cartooned goodies. My first encounter with it was to see a horror toon. You may even have seen it posted somewhere

[ENG ver.] Bongcheon-Dong Ghost (by Horang) ]

0014

How can you not like a sexy gait like that?

It kinda took the web by storm. At least, I was very fascinated with the webtoon because I am interested in scary things. I kinda wanted to see more, but unfortunately, there were only 2. The second one was

[ENG ver.] Ok-su Station Ghost – HORANG (옥수역 귀신 영문판)

Or even this drunken lady?

When I found Naver webtoon, it didn’t even remember this horror toon at all. Nice to be reunited again. The series is a small collection of short horror stories in 2011. Not all of the stories there are good, but they are worth a read! And if you haven’t, those two above should definitely be read. ;P

===

Let me get back to my main point. I’m really liking this webtoon thing! It does encourage me to read and expose me to many more words in the everyday context which I would otherwise not have done so, if I had chosen to only translate kpop related stuff.

Here’s a list of the webtoons I keep going back to:

– Twenties 투엔티스 (4.5/5)

title_thumbnail_20130118185744_t125x101

As mentioned before , this was the first story I read, and it’s still on going. Twenty’s Love Story is a romantic comedy about a 20 year old boy who is part of his friend’s group of freshly graduated 20 year olds who haven’t gotten a girlfriend yet and getting chided for it. One day he meets this really 4Dimensional 사차원 girl who loves coffee, is a barista wannabe and says the weirdest things, so most of their dates take place in a café. I like cafés and coffee and 4D people, so I like this one. Plus, it’s really funny. Of course, there’s a twist in this that makes things interesting, but I shan’t spoil it for you.

– My young kitten and old dog 내 어린고양이와 늙은개 (5/5)

title_thumbnail_20110404174155_t125x101I love this one so much♥! Animal friendly. It’s so adorable. Written from the perspective of the battle-worn dog who still has as much love for his family as before, and the newly adopted kitten who is a little nippy about fingers and itty bits, they share their daily ups and downs of being the pets of their owner. Chapter by chapter, the artist reveals things like the history of their adoption, times when the kitty trips because it can’t see properly, how the once black puppy has now faded to grey dog, times where they are grateful for the accommodation the family makes for them.. It’s all cute and touching and heartwarming at the same time. It’s a bit sad that the webtoon has concluded early this year, but there are many chapters to this one.

Smile Brush 스마일브러시 (3.9/5)

 

title_thumbnail_20100610110221_t125x101Return of the 4D 사차원 girls, this one is probably the most out of reality. Haha. She’s really quirky, and does the silliest things ever, but relates to almost everyone in their daily life. In Japanese, she’s a bit of a 天然ぼけ, and rightly so. In the first chapter, she sits waiting for a bus, but left her coffee cup. Later she goes back to accompany her cup, worried it’s lonely sitting there. Another time, she spent all her strength pushing out the last bit of the toothpaste with a satisfied grin, only to have it all wash down the drain when she put the toothbrush under the tap. Definitely the dreamer of the bunch 🙂 It scores slightly lower for me because sometimes the korean is a bit more complex to read. Or I suck. Both maybe.

(I haven’t read this one, but there’s another installment after Smile Brush, Smile brush, old photos 스마일 브러시, 오래된 사진. it’s one of those ‘look at old photos and reminiscing past memories. If you like smile brush, do consider this one too)

Welcome to Apartment 305 어서오세요.305호에 (4.2/5)

thumbnail_title_25735_125x101

I really enjoy this one too. This one is the life of 2 people trying to live together. The only problem is that one is homo and the other, homophobic. At times, it can seem a little over (which is why I can’t give it the 4.5 I wanted), but like the manhwa claims, it’s an exploration of two different mindsets, and no disrespect intended for homos and heteros alike. This one offers 171 chapters, and there’s also an english version available! (Update July 13: they took it down. Boo) (though it’s only translated halfway. It doesn’t seem like they will be continuing. Boo. But assuming if you can get through 71 + chapters with the english version as a guide, you should be able to finish the rest of the 100+ on your own. 😀

Strange and weird 기기괴괴 (4/5)

title_thumbnail_20130508182053_t125x101

I didn’t realize until now that 기기괴괴was a legit word. I always thought it was creaking sounds. lol! But rather than my translation of ‘strange and weird’, its hanja is 奇奇怪怪, if you can read Chinese, you’ll know exactly what it means. This webtoon is horror! So for the non horror fans, please still give it a try? In the world of 기기괴괴, there is a story of a myth. Set in a school life, with the usual bullies and bullied, it is said that there is a secret gallery. This secret museum contains the portrait of students. If you hang someone’s portrait in this museum, they will be cursed, and death will befall them. Sounds totally standard right? (*regular horror fan here) It’s quite predictable, and prediction tells me, there’s a price to pay for this curse. This is a new webtoon, and so I won’t know what the price is yet. This one I do quite like too.

2011 Collection of short horror stories 2011 미스테리 단편 (3.9/5)

title_thumbnail_20110711145528_t125x101

The above 2 stories are in this series! It is like what the title says, a collection of short stories, that range from really simple to some tougher to read ones. I can’t give this one a high rating, because even though some I really enjoy, there are also some ‘meh’ ones inside. I do recommend this one though, because it’s short, you can get done with them sooner. Also because it’s horror. (LOL. I can’t access 19+ so I really have limited horror webtoons – Whai nobody like dem?)

Love is all an act 사랑을 연기하다 (3.9/5)

title_thumbnail_20130104163621_t125x101

Romance is back! This one is rather tragic though. Lead guy basically leads a dreary life, plagued by his memories of his ex who dumped him. Fast forward a few years, and this sad guy has gotten even sadder, with a terminal illness to boot! As if life isn’t hard enough, Korean drama life only likes to make it worse by giving people super advanced cancer and 2 months. So this protagonist, now looking like a complete hobo, has to receive one final joke from the Korean drama world – A lottery win. All these sound incredulous. I agree. But let’s roll along with it.. This hobo decides not to do the good deed I expected, which was to donate it to a charity, instead he decides to squander it on a prostitute and get her to play his girlfriend for 2 months in exchange for 3 million (or something). Fine, do it this way. For values and morals sake it gets a lower score from me. (If prediction central is right again, his old girlfriend will be jealous, and prostitute might actually fall for him…)

========

These are those I have listed but haven’t read a lot (or at all). I will describe those I’ve read.

Hateful Comments Game 악플게임

title_thumbnail_20130412185358_t125x101

악플 is like a short form of negative reply, hateful, spiteful, critical comments and can lead to cyber bullying. I haven’t read it at all, but the title caught my attention.

 

Story of someone I know 아는사람 이야기

title_thumbnail_20120418172527_t125x101

Seems to be romance.

 

 

Good day to study 공부하기 좋은 날

title_thumbnail_20100726115420_t125x101

Under thriller section, so it should be scary right? I hope!

Update: A collection of short stories relating to the theme of school, stress, suicide, etc. Not bad a read actually!

Mystery Horror? Subway Train 미스테리호러지하철

thumbnail_title_24475_125x101

Friend mysteriously gets killed, friends who turn up at the funeral decide to investigate.

 

Brother’s here 오빠 왔다

title_thumbnail_20130510184649_t125x101

Day to day stuff that irks the hell out of the sister that the brother does.

title_thumbnail_20121130165600_t125x101

Strange tale of a female comedian and a male hair designer.

 

 

A simple study of Blood Types 혈액형에 관한 간단한 고찰

title_thumbnail_20110401184237_t125x101

It’s really popular. This one has an english version floating around too.

I tried other stuff Like ‘Penguin loves Mev‘, or another ‘waegook in korea’? one, but I kinda like those above better. Do you have any to recommend?

==========

If you’re more into text and less pictures, there’s also a Naver short story section, which I can’t seem to find the shortcut key to from Naver’s home page, so I type in the url everytime. 😦 There are limited selection over at the novels portion (i’m trying to read Hello Wedding), but I still like my cartoonated stuff more.

Check it out though!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Favorite Naver Webtoons

  1. Pingback: The Things I Have Been Doing Which May Or May Not Have Helped in Learning Korean. | 귀 . 찮 . 니 . 스 . 트 . 의 . 생 . 활
  2. Hi, we loved reading your blog post about webtoons. We like to ask if you would like to share your experiences with reading webtoons and learning Korean from them to our community? Our members can learn some important information from you. Please if you have any questions you can email me, thank you very much!

  3. 귀찮니스트 is wrong 귀차니즘 is right i think they mean same but.people use 귀차니즘 more and if you have any question about korean or.korean culture and you can ask me.i am korean how about watch 지니어스 룰브레이커 it is name of tv program if you like to use your head and watch it if you like drama watch 상속자들 this is a romance have a nice day 🙂

    • Oh thanks for letting me know about the genius rule breaker! I had no idea such a show existed! Haha and thanks for 상속자들, but I’m not too fond of the actors in there, but I do like some good dramas, like 주군의 태양 and 착한남자 I’m watching 별에서 온 그대, and loving 천송이!~

Leave a secret comment on what you think?

